In Grades 11 & 12, Brent follows a program based on the curriculum of the International Baccalaureate Organization.

All students are required to study the curriculum of the IB Diploma Program (IBDP) but in practice, they fall into three unique pathways:


Those pursuing the Brent Diploma and IB Diploma

The IB diploma requires students to take 3 subjects at Higher Level (HL) and 3 subjects at Standard Level (SL). Students must also complete the core program of Theory of Knowledge (TOK), CAS (Creativity, Activity and Service) and the EE (Extended Essay) at the IB level.


Those taking the Brent Diploma and some IB examinations to gain individual IB Certificates.

Students may opt not to take the IB diploma but rather take some courses for IB courses, at HL or SL level, while they pursue the Brent Diploma. For example, a student might take English A1 at the HL level and Biology at the SL while taking credit level courses in his remaining subjects. If successful in these HL or SL subjects, they will be awarded the IB Certificate.


Those taking the Brent Diploma, where they follow IB courses but without the IB exams.

Guidelines for students of ALL PATHWAYS:

The Brent Diploma is awarded to IB diploma students and to all students who fulfill the graduation requirements outlined in the Student-Parent Handbook.

All Brent students from each pathway must complete the core program of:

  1. Theory of Knowledge (TOK)
  2. Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS)
  3. Extended Essay (EE)

Note: Students pursuing the Brent Diploma only (non-IB Diploma students) now have the option of taking one or more of these courses for an IB certificate.